1861-Archer won the first Melbourne Cup. He also won the following year

1863-Banker carried the lightest weight to victory in the race (5 stone 4pounds)

1881-Zulu, a horse which was often used as a cart horse won the cup at 50/1. He later returned to occasional duties as a cart horse after a failed stud career

1930-Pharlap became the shortest priced favourite to win when successful at 8/11

1936-100/1 outsider Wotan stuns crowd with a last to first effort to win the cup

1940-100/1 outsider Old Rowley stuns punters by winning the Melbourne Cup

1952-West Coast galloper Dalray wins the Melbourne Cup

1975-Bart Cummings trained Think Big wins his second Melbourne Cup

1976-New Zealand trainer Van Der Hum, a maiden winner in April won the Cup on a heavy track.

1993-Irish trainer galloper Vintage Crop became the first European trainer horse to win the race

1997-Might and Power completes the Caulfield Cup/Melbourne Cup double

2001-NZ trained Ethereal completes the Caulfield Cup/Melbourne Cup double

2005-Makybe Diva became the first horse to win three Melbourne Cups


A review on the Melbourne Cup

%d bloggers like this: